Positive and Negative Affect Schedule

Submitted by administrator on

The Positive and Negative Affect Schedule (PANAS) measures the two primary dimensions of mood: Positive affect reflects the extent to which a person feels enthusiastic, active, and alert; negative affect is a general dimension of subjective distress and unpleasurable engagement that subsumes a variety of aversive mood states. The PANAS consists of 10 positive affects (interested, excited, strong, enthusiastic, proud, alert, inspired, determined, attentive, and active) and 10 negative affects (distressed, upset, guilty, scared, hostile, irritable, ashamed, nervous, jittery, and afraid). Participants are asked to rate items on a scale from 1 to 5, based on the strength of emotion where 1 = "very slightly or not at all," and 5 = "extremely."

Mental Health
General/Multiple Disorders

Studies Using This Assessment